Caution

Maybe you are my best apprehension of the word ‘caution.’
A sign that if I do not follow, I will lose the grip and fall. 

You were my first protector-caution.
“Ignore them, okay? I’ll protect you from the bad guys,” you tell me. You assured me with the best precautionary measures you do best: squeezing my hand and hugging me tight. Now, the person who used to protect me from the bad guys, has now become the bad guy, in my mind and soul.

You had caution entry.
“Stop Ahead,” you greeted. Your zone was yours all along. Yet, you opened it but with a warning. Your zone was too welcoming and unsparing that I didn’t notice the sign. A sign that was there all along: “No trespassing.”

You were the caution burning.
You were caution of a hot surface that I should dare not touch. The flame was up but I still gave in, to your love that was never meant to be burning anyway.

You cautioned me to watch my step.
Every step I took felt a step closer to trouble, which is you, but I still held on to the rails and leaped happily level after level. For now, even a single step to forgetting you is hard for me to stride on. Why? Because the memory of us always stands in my way.

You were caution that was nearing to explode.
Caution: Explosion Risk. I was caught off-guard. I didn’t know that particular caution sign had a translation: I’ve changed. It was foggy, ashes all around you. Finally, the sign clearly showed: Blasting Area. Keep Away, Keep Out, Keep Clear. How many of that is needed for me to hear?

You had caution which said, “This way.”
It was confusing. Your way was meant to be in the right direction, but mine was left. We didn’t understand one another but maybe that was the direction meant for us. Away from each other.

You still are a caution.
Your sign now appears to be that you are a construction in progress. Without my supervision, and that’s okay. With authorized personnel only, and that’s okay, too.

You will be a caution, still.
“Priority Zone Ahead,” you’ll claim. A claim which doesn’t include me anymore.

DANGER. CAUTION. WARNING.
You were all those all along in caps lock and in black and yellow.
But I didn’t listen.
And so I slipped and fell, so hard that I couldn’t breathe.
“Careful,” you say it for the last time.
Right there, I was trapped in your hazard forever.
Right then, I wouldn’t hear the word ‘caution’ from you anymore.


After months of hibernation, it felt so good to post something here again! It doesn’t qualify much for an entry but just made up something dramatic in relation to the picture of my classmate, Jireh, that I took for our Photojournalism class compliance. Posted this entry, too, in a facebook page, Deep Thoughts.

It’s been a while. So, how’s life, y’all? In case you ask, mine’s brewing good. Just enough taste, not bitter nor sweet, just in between. It doesn’t take much to actually enjoy life amidst the pressure, eh? As long as you know you’re on the right track.

So, uhm,  I do not know what to say anymore. I’ll just leave it here – yes, without an end note. Oh, perhaps this will do: Beware and stay cautioned.

Leave a comment