Day 1 of ’23

In cognizance of 2023’s Day One, I have come to read earlier this proverbial line from a book, like sweet serendipity on cue: “One day is all days.”

One day is all days. Put that together with the motivational quote “One Day or Day One. You decide”, I’m sure we’re bound to log in some productivity ahead of the year by inspiration, or pressure if we’re to be quite honest.

As a self-confessed Amy Santiago (from Brooklyn Nine-Nine) personality type, I love routines, plans, and traditions. In fact, I worship consistency in all matters. It could be my favorite letter C word, perhaps next to the word chocolate. Hmm. *Crunch* Speaking of chocolates, isn’t it just a delight to see on social media full and complete family tables for the New Year 2023? I mean, what absolute thrill that after the pandemic, people are just so excited to celebrate the holidays together! My parents and I even started bustling in the kitchen a little before noon on the 31st because we were too excited! I gush most especially when I see tables lavishly filled with sumptuous and homecooked food, creative decors, and a collective hopeful spirit and excitement for the year ahead.   

As traditions go, New Year has seen so much of this thing called palihi among families. Palihi is a Cebuano term which essentially means “an act that invites luck”. Popular and quirky palihi customs among Filipino families include the following: the wearing of red clothing (or undergarments) during birthdays or Christmas, jumping at the strike of 12 midnight during New Year to attract the possibility of growing taller, gathering of a bowl of round-shaped fruits to symbolize prosperity and fortune, eating of long noodles as it represents good health and long life, honking of cars or motorcycle to create a noise so loud in order to drive away evil spirits, these among many other observances.

But what’s most striking after the palatial meal of the Media Noche is the things one would do for the next hours of the first day of the year. Would you do your daily old routine during the past year or would you rather spice up the pattern, in the hopes of setting an example and imprinting the same in the days and months for the whole year round? Or like my old folks, just basically eat and sleep in whatever order because c’mon, it’s a holiday?! What better excuse than the New Year’s to just relax or ~slack~, amaryt?

Uhm, I’m pretty sure you’re navigating this paragraph in intense anticipation to know what I have been doing for the past couple of hours. Well, your girl is quite secretive (and extremely introverted in her cocoon) but I would let you in on a little color visual: Viva Magenta. Too vague? I know! But just imagine me, be it hearing the mass in Church or receiving video call greetings from family, screaming pink from head to toe, ~literally~ from cheeks to toe polish. Add in the 2023 planner cover and book-of-the-day choice. And my phone case if we’re being generous.

Just on the last morning of the year 2022, I attended Bro. Bo Sanchez’s online mini-retreat entitled “Uncluttered” where thousands of participants (lucky to be part of the 1K-max Zoom troop!) were indulged with meditation and reflection exercises to declutter our mind to make a little space for the good, great, wistful, and wonderful memories of 2023.

We were taught of the 3-2-1 Action game plan where in our little notebook pad, we should write down our 3 blessings of the year that was; 2 lessons learned of the year past; and the 1 goal to achieve in the new year. I sang, albeit on mute (thank goodness) with Bro. Bo’s sons, Bene and Francis, the tunes to the Feast Worship songs I have come to hear on a daily basis on Spotify since the Feast Visayas conference and even teared up a bit listening to Sis Marowe’s testimonies and experiences.

My 2022 was sweet at most, bittersweet in some. I could sum my year in two words essentially: lessons learned. I have lost, let go, lazed and left things, but I have also led, loved, learned, laughed, and lived. And living. But as understood by and sang from the heart of JJ Heller (OG artist) and yours truly (wannabe artist), “Even when you lose, don’t lose heart.” And I’ll continue to be reminded by it, today and every day.  

Wow, that has gone straight mellow right there. All in all, I’m utterly grateful to have been inspired by the cracks and gaps of 2022 that I hope I am bound and you too, dear reader, to receive the good, golden, and great of 2023.

As we all know, Day One draws the curtain and opens up the blank page of many as it basically unfolds a new beginning. But know that there is no pressure that your (or my) day one should definitely be on the first day of the year. It can start now (or after you read this entry). It can start tomorrow. It can start next month. It can start whenever you’re ready. Each day is a benchmark of learning and growing. This we must take heart, no matter what others are keen to say (or keep count anyway).  

I hope your Day One today with your day ones have been splendid. Mine was, in ways I could happily daydream about.

May your 2023 be all kinds of wonderful. Let us all be inspired in meaningful ways so we can inspire others in our little ways.

To living reveries this ’23? HNY to you (and to my future hny?!)!

TLR ❤️

Leave a comment